Backwash

Days keep coming back like waves on my feet.

I can save nothing from the foam of the sea.

I’m adrift in an ocean of shipwrecked keels;

and there’s nothing I can salvage from their treasuries.


No part of the sunset that appeals to me.

All of it merges in my memories; 

there’s only brown born from all the reds and greens.

Only, I drowned from swimming in the sea. 


(A/N: It’s been a while since I wrote poetry that rhymed (many months to be frank) and I was nervous about posting this at all so please tell me if I should try this again!)

15 thoughts on “Backwash

  1. I enjoyed it. Don’t be nervous to share your work. I just wrote a poem last month after 3 years. It felt good. Im trying to get back into free verse poetry. I consider myself a mediocre poet, but seeing how open my fellow bloggers are with their writing motivated me to do the same with mine. Keep at it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

