The Blacksmith

It was the strangest thing. 

When I first met you, I was a woman with a plan and I was going on a pathbreaking road to discovery. Head held high and determined, pen poised elegantly. Dancing eyes and fearless heart.

I fell for you. I thought that you taught me things. You made me see things I’d never seen before, but that didn’t necessarily make them better things. I adapted myself to this new knowledge and before I knew it I was rhyming ‘heart’ with ‘apart’, devastated by the loss of you, unable to hunt down a place where you didn’t exist because I carried you around in my soul. 

I was made of an iron heart and nerves of steel; but you forged me into something unrecognisable. 

7 thoughts on “The Blacksmith

Leave a Reply

