Ephemeral

n. Lasting for a very short time

I once came across a thought

That flitted over the terrain I have tread;

That whispers to me secretively

As would a spirit of the deep,

Telling me

That every atom in my body was born in a Big Bang

(Which is essentially an adjective followed by a noun)

And I am old.

As old as you, or Voltaire, or the prehistoric dinosaur,

Which is as old as the Universe.

I am and you are and she is and they are

As aged as the stars afar,

As young as the dandelions on this grass,

As incomprehensible as dark matter,

As simple as an Amoeba,

As vivacious as the wind,

As sure as the tide,

Because I am of the same stuff, right?

No.

I forget, that I am singular.

The permutation of this matter in me

Is as atypical as every snowflake

On every iceberg on the sea.

Broken bits of me might match others.

But whole, I am unique.

The strains and chords of my thoughts

Are unique.

These words gushing spasmodically

Are unique.

I am

Not you

Or her

Or the Universe.

Having the same structural atoms,

doesn’t make me less different.

My congruence is highlighted with bursts of divergence.

I’m a walking contradiction, utterly unique.

Just like you.

image

(A/N: I named this post ‘ephemeral’ in a moment of inspired irony. We are the matter of the Universe, but in comparison to it, are our lives not merely ephemeral?)

9 thoughts on “Ephemeral

  1. Ma’am, you have my utmost respect and my grandest salute. I literally clapped after reading the whole poem. This poem was mind-blowing, in the true sense of the word. Just amazing. I really don’t want to stop appreciating this piece. Wow! Just wow. Thanks a lot for keeping motivated to write. Such pieces stir everything inside of me. Once again, WOW.

    *applauds again*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear reader,
      It is because of comments like yours I feel encouraged to upload. :’) I’m ecstatic you liked this, and I will upload more, and more often. Thank you, so much. This means a great deal. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is breathtaking.
    I’ve read this thrice already and I’m still taking in the beauty, the complexity and the sweet simplicity of it.
    Exquisite. Would love to read more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

